Women’s Day is Everyday

I apologize for the lack of updating, I’m full of excuses that I won’t bore you with, but promise that this blog will continue to exist and I’m going to make it a goal to update more often.

Austin has been treating us well with a place to stay, ease of getting around the city, and plenty of access to healthy (and not so healthy) and delicious foods.  We keep busy with our jobs and stacks of movies and books from the library.  We both managed to find jobs that we’ll keep until we leave – and they already know we plan to leave.  I’m doing contract work for a company who puts out supplemental online study questions for university science courses.  My job is to write/edit science questions (biology, chemistry, physics) for the high school level project they are launching.  And they are keeping me on to work on another project as well.  The job is rewarding and can be a challenge.

It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve been on my bike. My attempts to heal my knee are going quite well.  I’m on a pretty regular workout schedule again.  I have free access to a gym and have been doing cardio that’s easy on my knee- recumbent bike on easy training and using the elliptical machine.  I’m also doing various light weight training on my legs that focuses on multiple muscles.  I went to a free yoga class and have also decided to go to yoga classes (by donation) a couple of times a week as well. I find that besides when riding a bike, my knee hurts the most when sitting down in one spot for a long time. I’m ok with avoiding that last scenario.  But I’m hoping that I can get to riding my bike soon enough- the hills in Austin don’t really allow for an easy day of riding with weird knee.  I avoided going to the doctor due to a lack of health insurance and knowing that they would most likely recommend that I get an MRI. Instead I’ll do physical therapy and take vitamins – including the flax oil that Christopher recommended.  Walking up and down stairs already feels significantly better.

More good news…

Matthew and I purchased our tickets to Chile!!!!  Saddened our bikes aren’t able to take the journey with us, but thrilled to finally have a date to move forward.  We leave Austin the morning of April 4th and arrive in Chile early on April 5th.  It took a long time to find cheap tickets but we managed to find something affordable.  It involves multiple flights: Austin -> Dallas -> Miami ->Lima -> Santiago.  I haven’t been to Chile in about 10 years and I’m really looking forward to being there again.  I’m excited to see my family and I’m also looking forward to exploring regions I wasn’t able to see previously.  It’s going to be great to be in Chile with Matt and also while my papa is there to tell us stories about adventures from his youth of climbing mountains, camping in the snow, selling watermelons, and driving a taxi.  We plan to have plenty of adventure stories as well.  We are bringing our tent and other camping supplies- although I love the city life, I am more thrilled to think of camping and hiking in other countries.

——

I’d also like to share that today is International Women’s Day! I’d like to send my love to all of the wonderful women that I know and to those that I don’t know who have dedicated their lives toward positive change and who continue to share their love, happiness and strength with the rest of the world.  You all inspire me and together we can all continue to support one another everyday.

Thank you The Mom for all of your continued love, support and strength throughout my life.  You and I picked a good day to get me into this world 29 years ago.

Much love to all of you!

4 thoughts on “Women’s Day is Everyday

  1. YES! I am looking forward to hearing all about Chile. Congrats on getting it all organized and planned. Are you seeing all the good music everybody talks about in Austin?

  2. Thanks Megan, we are really looking forward to getting to Chile. We plan to spend some time traveling around South America and making our way up to Central America as well. Meet us out there! There hasn’t been a whole lot of bands that I care to spend money to see, but we’ve gone to some shows and SXSW is coming up so that should be interesting. Austin is a decent place to be sort of stuck in.
    Miss you! xoxo

    • Haha I can’t believe that I never put it together that you too might know one another from MSU times working for the newspaper. That’s my guess at how you two know each other.

      I was lucky to meet Megan when we were both living in Flint. She’s a rad lady!

      Small world indeed!

Leave a Reply

